Students, staff, family and friends all gathered once again in the spirit of celebration as HCI’s Academic Award Ceremony marked the many accomplishments of students in academics and arts endeavours. The ceremony has been held virtually for the past couple of years, so MC Heidi Phillips welcomed everyone back to the Humboldt Collegiate commons for an in person ceremony. Over $200,000 in awards were handed out to students. Phillips passed along thanks on behalf of the Collegiate to all the generous donors. 

The ceremony kicked off with the presentation of the Jacob Leicht Memorial Award. The scholarship valued at $1100 dollars went to Jocelyn Durand. The award is a recognition of a young leader who modelled kindness, humility, perseverance, self-discipline and courage. Durant also picked up the BHP Jansen Project Scholarship, a joint venture by the mining giant and Carlton Trail College.

Each year, four grade 11 students going into their final year are awarded classes at St. Peter’s College to jumpstart their post-secondary careers. Matthew Washkowsky of St. Peter’s was on hand to present the Accelerated Scholarship Awards to Rebecca Hueser, Lauren Ireland, Emma Knight, and Taryn Stock.

HCI Alum and well-known philanthropist Henry Kloppenberg made another appearance to present an award he’s given out since 1977. The Kloppenberg Mathematics Scholarship went to Jaycee Neville. 

Other awards recognized the legacy of those involved in the Humboldt Broncos tragedy. Marlilyn Hay, mother of Tyler Bieber presented the Tyler Bieber Memorial Award. Tyler was renowned for his community spirit, volunteering, and love of sport, and Rachel Germain, winner of the award, exemplified those traits. 

Darlene Hinz presented the Brody Hinz Memorial Character Awards to those who display Brody’s attributes of integrity and advocacy for others. Recipients included Annagail Ell, Brady Holtvogt, Cole Ewanishin, and Hannah Mulhern. 

Another touching moment came as the Jayda Hoppe Heart of Hope Memorial Scholarship was presented by her mother, Kerry. Jayda was sadly lost in 2020 at the age of 14. The award honours Jayda’s love of life and sport and goes to a sports participant who exhibits kind, compassionate and encouraging behaviour. HCI’s Dylan Smith was the chosen recipient. 

Other high profile award winners recognized were Aiden Behiel for receiving the U of S Chancellor’s Award, a rare feat, and Nikko Po for receiving the Schulich Leader Scholarship.

The full listing of awards and recipients can be found below.


Here is a listing of the honour roll and proficiency winners below.


Enjoy a glimpse of the excitement during the event.